stolen property

Register    |    Log In

Tip Center - About Felony Theft And Theft Prevention Tips

Felony Theft

Definition Of Felony Theft

Top

Felony Theft

In general, felony theft is defined by the value of something stolen. Most jurisdictions divide felony theft into different categories typically called classes. For instance, a class one felony theft would be for stolen goods of a high value such as a valuable painting, whereas a class two felony theft is for stolen goods of lesser value such as a stolen TV valued at $2000. A court that handles other felony charges, muddier, kidnapping or manslaughter, for instance, will also hear felony theft charges and bigger cases of fraud. Typically felony theft charges are very serious and can involve heavy fines and even state prison time.

What Dollar Amount Classifies Felony Theft By State

Top

Amount For Felony Theft Per State

Alabama $500 Montana $1,000
Alaska $500 Nebraska $500
Arizona $250 Nevada $250
Arkansas $500 New Hampshire $500
California $400 New Jersey $250
Colorado $500 New Mexico $250
Connecticut $1,000 New York $1,000
Delaware $1,000 North Carolina $1,000
Florida $300 North Dakota $500
Georgia $300 Ohio $500
Hawaii $300 Oklahoma $500
Idaho $1,000 Oregon $750
Illinois $150 Pennsylvania $2,000
Indiana Always a Class D Felony Theft Rhode Island $500
Iowa $1,000 South Carolina $1,000
Kansas $1,000 South Dakota $500
Kentucky $300 Tennessee $500
Louisiana $300 Texas $1,500
Maine $1,000 Utah $1,000
Maryland $500 Vermont $100
Massachusetts $250 Virginia $200
Michigan $1,000 Washington $750
Minnesota $250 West Virginia $1,000
Mississippi $500 Wisconsin $2,500
Missouri $500 Wyoming $1,000